The LaLaurie Mansion
The LaLaurie Mansion sits on the corner of Royal and Governor Nicholls St. in New Orleans' famous French Quarter. The mansion was once home to Madame Marie Delphine MacCarthy LaLaurie, a wealthy socialite, and her third husband, Dr. Leonard Louis Nicolas LaLaurie. The couple were particularly fond of throwing lavish parties for the city's most elite residents.
The LaLauries moved into the neoclassical mansion in 1832, bringing a number of enslaved people with them. Two years later, a massive fire broke out inside the house, revealing less than savory working and living conditions for the slaves. Having been found out, the Doctor and Madame sold the home, leaving the French Quarter for Paris and leaving the mansion behind as an unpleasant memory.
Soon after the fire, the mansion was converted into apartments, then later into an all-girls school. Tenants of the apartments and students attending the school frequently reported bizarre, seemingly supernatural, activity within the home, and it was eventually restored to its original state upon the closing of the school. Today, the LaLaurie Mansion remains on the corner of Royal and Governor Nicholls St. and can be visited as one of New Orleans' iconic and cultural landmarks.
Thought by some to be haunted, the LaLaurie Mansion has also become a mainstay of American supernatural lore and history.